Regionally Accredited Colleges

Guilford Technical Community College will only recognize high schools or colleges accredited from the list below. If the high school or college is not accredited by one of the following agencies, GTCC will not accept a transcript or any credits from that institution.

- EH New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE)

 The (NEASC) accredits schools in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island,
 - The (NEASC) accredits schools in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, Europe, Africa, Asia and the Middle East.
- **EV** New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Technical and Career Institutions (NEASC-CTCI)
- M Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Higher Education (NCA) The (MSA) accredits schools in Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Central America, Europe, and the Middle East.
- NH North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, the Higher Learning Commissions (NCA)

 The (NCA) accredits schools in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan,

 Minnesota, Missouri, Navajo Nation, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South

 Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- **NW** Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Colleges (NASC) *The (NWCCU) accredits schools in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.*
- SC Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges (SACS)

 The (SACS) accredits schools in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North
 Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Latin America.
- WC Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities (WASC-SR)

 The (WASC) accredits schools in California, Hawaii, Guam, American Samoa, Palau, Micronesia, North Marianas, Marshall Islands, and other Australian locations.
- **WJ** Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (WASC-ACCJC)

Alternatively, some online high schools are accredited by the **Distance Education Training Council**. The DETC is also recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. GTCC is unable to award transfer credit from colleges who are only accredited by the "Distance Education Training Council".